top-news

Fee for Colorado Driver Licenses Increasing

Beginning July 1, the fee for a Colorado driver license will increase by $1--from $26 to $27. Other fees are unchanged. 

This increase was a result of House Bill 16-1415, intended to offset the cost of providing Division of Motor Vehicles driver services. 

The fee for a driver license under SB-251 - the Colorado Road and Community Safety Act - will not change, since the cost of providing the service is already fully recouped. 

Small Earthquake Near Trinidad Saturday

PROMO 660 x 440 Miscellaneous - Earthquake Seismograph - iStock

The United State Geological Survey recorded a minor earthquake near Trinidad in Las Animas county early Saturday morning.

The quake registered 3.9 on the Richter Scale, and occurred about one mile beneath the surface. It occurred 24 miles west of Trinidad at 12:42 a.m. Two people reported feeling the earthquake. No damage reports have been received.

Lightning Safety Week: Protect Your Family from the Deadliest Weather Hazard

PROMO 660 x 440 Weather - Lightning - NOAA

"When Thunder Roars, Go Indoors!"

Given that a half million lightning flashes strike the ground in Colorado each year, and that more people are killed and injured by lightning than any other weather hazard, Governor John Hickenlooper has declared the week of June 18 through June 24 as Colorado Lightning Safety Awareness Week.

Colorado is in the top ten states for lightning deaths, with 14 fatalities recorded since 2007.

Summer DUI Enforcement Campaign Underway

PROMO 660 x 440 The Heat is On

Summer officially arrives Tuesday and, with the start of the season, increased DUI patrols across Colorado have also begun. The Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT), Colorado State Patrol (CSP) and local law enforcement agencies are teaming up to crack down on impaired drivers during The Heat Is On Summer Blitz DUI enforcement period from June 16 through June 26.