Loflin and Lindholm named to Phi Theta Kappa All-Colorado Academic Team

PROMO 660 x 440 Logo - LCC Lamar Community College

Forty students were inducted into the 2018 Phi Theta Kappa All-Colorado Academic Team on March 14, including Lamar Community College's Ashtyn Loflin and Laura Lindholm.  The ceremony was held at the History Colorado Center in downtown Denver and presented by the Foundation for Colorado Community Colleges and the Credit Union of Colorado.

National Sorghum Foundation Offers Scholarships

PROMO 660 x 440 Academics - Chalk Board School - iStock

Each year the National Sorghum Foundation offers several scholarship opportunities for college students to apply toward their tuition. The current sorghum scholarships available are the Bruce Maunder Sorghum Leadership Scholarship, the Darrell Rosenow Memorial Scholarship and the Sorghum Feed and Food Scholarship. Applicants for these scholarships should show commitment to a better future for agriculture and sorghum through their educational pursuits. There are different requirements for each. NSP encourages all qualified students to apply.

LCC’s Innovate & Make Space Host Spring Break Maker Camp

PROMO 660 x 440 Logo - LCC Lamar Community College

The Innovate & Make Space (I&MS) at Lamar Community College will host its first-ever Maker Camp this coming spring break.  The four-day camp is open to area 6th, 7th, and 8th grade students.  It will be held March 12-15 from 9:00am to noon each day.

The Maker Camp will include fun, hands-on projects using the I&MS equipment including the 3D printer, laser cutter, and vinyl cutter.  Attendees will also get to participate in a group cardboard challenge.

Dr. Lisa Schlotterhausen Named Vice President at Lamar Community College

PROMO 660 x 440 Logo - LCC Lamar Community College

Lamar Community College has named Dr. Lisa Schlotterhausen as the next Vice President for Academic and Student Services.  Dr. Schlotterhausen, who is currently serving as the Interim Dean of Academic Affairs at Riverland Community College in Austin, Minnesota, will assume her role at LCC on April 16, 2018.

Colorado Students Named to Deans Honor Roll at Fort Hays State University

PROMO 660 x 440 Academics - Chalk Board School - iStock

Several Colorado students are among the 1,607 named by Fort Hays State University, in Hays, Kansas, to the Deans Honor Roll for the fall 2017 semester.

The Deans Honor Roll includes undergraduate students only. To be eligible, students must have completed 12 or more credit hours and earned a minimum grade point average of 3.60 for the semester. Full-time on-campus and FHSU Virtual College students are eligible.