Watts, Dorenkamp Among Colorado Contestants for $1 Million Prize Pool

Agriculture - Livestock
Published Sunday, March 27, 2016

When the Ram National Circuit Finals Rodeo (RNCFR) gets underway at the Silver Spurs Arena in Florida April 7, 2016, rodeo athletes will have made the journey from every part of the country to compete for national championships.

The circuit system divides the United States into 12 geographical regions where Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association (PRCA) and Women's Professional Rodeo Association (WPRA) members compete for points in their designated area to advance to their circuit finals. The winners of the 12 circuit finals as well as the year-end champions in each rodeo event are then invited to the RNCFR for a total of 192 contestants. With over $1 million in prize money, winning contestants could easily earn over $20,000 each. They will also get a $20,000 certificate towards the purchase of a Ram vehicle, a new Polaris RANGER UTV, and a championship package that includes a buckle, saddle and new pair of boots.

Events showcased at the RNCFR include bareback riding; steer wrestling; team roping (heading and heeling); saddle bronc riding; women's barrel racing and bull riding. The first four performances will be broadcast online on the Wrangler Network. The finals on April 10 will air on CBS Sports.

Qualifiers from the Mountain States region, which includes Colorado and Wyoming, include

  • Joel Schlegel, Burns, Colo. Bareback riding
  • Craig Wisehart, Kersey, Colo. Bareback riding
  • Cody Johansen, Greeley, Colo. bull riding
  • Jacob Smith, LaSalle, Colo. bull riding
  • Ivy Conrado, Hudson, Colo. barrel racing
  • Andrea Busby, Milsap, Texas barrel racing
  • Cole Dorenkamp, Lamar, Colo. heading
  • Clayton Van Aken, Laramie, Wyo. heading
  • Cullen Teller, Pierce, Colo. heeling
  • T.J. Watts, Hudson, Colo. heeling
  • Lyle Welling, Marsland, Neb. saddle bronc riding
  • Brody Cress, Hillsdale, Wyo. saddle bronc riding
  • Josh Peek, Pueblo, Colo. steer wrestling
  • Cody Pratt, Pueblo, Colo. steer wrestling
  • Brice Ingo, Boone, Colo. tie-down roping
  • Josh Peek, Pueblo, Colo. tie-down roping