PROMO 64J1 Legal - Court Law Colorado Flag Gavel Justice Crime - iStock - NiroDesign

Applicants for Kiowa County Court judgeship announced

© iStock - NiroDesign

The Fifteenth Judicial District Nominating Commission has announced three people have applied for nomination to the office of Kiowa County judge. 

The application deadline was Friday. The rules of procedure for the Fifteenth Judicial District Nominating Commission requires that the names of all applicants be made public when the application period is closed. Applicants are Adrian Washington of Westcliffe, Pamela “Pam” Erramuzpe Johnston of Arlington, and Brenda M. R. Fickenscher of Chivington.

The Fifteenth Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet July 22 to interview and select nominees for appointment by the governor to the county judge's office. The vacany was created with the retirement of the Honorable Gary Davis, which will occur September 1. 

To be eligible for appointment to fill the vacancy, the applicant must be a qualified elector of Kiowa County and have graduated high school and attained the equivalent of a high school. The annual salary for this position is $36,940.80, a part-time position. The initial term of office of a county judge is a provisional term of two years; thereafter, the incumbent county judge, if approved by the voters, has a term of four years. 

Public comment on the qualifications of the applicants is invited. 

The 15th Judicial District nominating commission consists of Douglas Tallman of Kiowa, Timothy Hume of Baca, Margaret Jolly of Cheyenne, Annessa Stulp, Darla Specht, Kim Verhoeff and Lanie Meyers-Mireles, all of Prowers County. Justice Melissa Hart of the Colorado Supreme Court is the ex officio chair of the commission.