LCC Inducts new Phi Theta Kappa Members

PROMO 660 x 440 Logo - LCC Lamar Community College
Published Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Lamar Community College's Beta Eta Gamma chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society welcomed its newest members during the fall induction ceremony on November 2. 

New inductees include: Colby Cain (McClave), Tatum Chase (McClave), Alma Chavez (Lamar), V.J. Christopherson (Sheridan Lake), Mackenzie Dingmann (Foley, Minnesota), Troy Dirks (Las Animas), Wacey Dorenkamp (Bristol), Robyn Richardson (Clayton, New Mexico), Shania Jo RunningRabbit (Lamar), Trace Salzbrenner (Holly), Chloe Santos (Laredo, Texas), James Slusser (Colorado Springs), Jeanette Steerman (Lamar) and Nicole Weakley (Lamar).

After a welcome from LCC President Dr. Linda Lujan, the guest speaker for the ceremony was LCC adjunct instructor Ian Blacker. 

Pastor Blacker is the Lead Pastor at Lamar Christian Church and has taught communications courses at LCC since 2008.  He holds a BA in pastoral ministry from Nebraska Christian College and an MA in leadership from Hope International University in Fullerton, California.  Blacker has served as the Colorado State Patrol Chaplain for seven years, Lamar Police Department Chaplain for sixteen years, Prowers Medical Center Chaplain for eighteen years, and is currently completing a second Master's Degree.  Pastor Blacker began his academic career at the University of Strathclyde and also studied business law and economics at Glasgow College of Commerce. 

Blacker spoke of his experiences with the most successful people in the business world and shared their common traits: honesty, integrity, and a desire to serve others.  In Pastor Blacker's words, leadership is the ability to help others bring out their full potential, and the most successful people are those who live their lives in this way rather than seeking recognition for themselves.  

Phi Theta Kappa is an international scholastic honor society with a two-fold mission: to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service, and fellowship programming.  Founded in 1910, it is the oldest and largest academic honor society of its kind.

The Beta Eta Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa promotes and honors academic excellence at LCC and is active on campus. To be eligible, students must have a 3.5 grade-point average after completing 12 or more credit hours of college-level work, be currently enrolled, and pursuing an AA, AS, AGS or AAS degree.  Induction of new members occurs every fall and spring semester.

Phi Theta Kappa members are eligible to apply for millions of dollars in scholarships each year, as well as gain leadership skills and network with other high achieving college students.   

LCC's Phi Theta Kappa current officers are Marissa Castanos (Wiley), President; Jack Stamper (Monument), Vice President of Scholarship; Paige Dempsey (Lamar), Vice President of Fellowship; Perla Chavira (Lamar), Vice President of Leadership; Miranda Morgan (Wiley), Public Relations Secretary; and Edina Krusko (Littleton), Recording Secretary.  

For more information regarding Phi Theta Kappa at Lamar Community College, contact David Frankel at 719-336-1547 or Kelly Emick at 719-336-1532.

Photo: Phi Theta Kappa fall 2016 new members.  Top Row: Mackenzie Dingmann, V.J. Christophersen.  Second row: Jeanette Steerman, Colby Cain, Wacey Dorenkamp.  Third row: Tatum Chase, Chloe Santos, Robyn Richardson, Shania Jo RunningRabbit.  Front row: 2016 Phi Theta Kappa Officers Perla Chavira, Miranda Morgan, Marissa Castanos.  Not pictured: Alma Chavez, Troy Dirks, Trace Salzbrenner, James Slusser and Nicole Weakley