PROMO Graphic - Severe Thunderstorm WATCH - Chris Sorensen

Thunderstorm watch issued for 17 eastern Colorado counties Saturday

A severe thunderstorm watch is in effect.
PICT - Kiowa County Press Icon
Chris Sorensen

The National Weather Service Storm Prediction Center in Norman, Oklahoma, has issued a severe thunderstorm watch for parts of eastern Colorado, along with portions of three other states, through 10:00 p.m. MDT Saturday.

Radar image updates every five minutes.

Scattered large hail and isolated very large hail with two-inch diameters, along with wind gusts up to 70 miles per hour, are possible. Tornadoes are not expected to accompany the storms.

Counties under the watch include

  • Bent
  • Cheyenne
  • Crowley
  • Elbert
  • El Paso
  • Kiowa
  • Kit Carson
  • Lincoln
  • Logan
  • Morgan
  • Otero
  • Phillips
  • Prowers
  • Pueblo
  • Sedgwick
  • Washington
  • Yuma

The watch also includes four Kansas counties, 18 Nebraska counties and eight South Dakota counties.