Doug Wilson Named Colorado Corn Administrative Committee president

Following the recent passing of Colorado Corn Administrative Committee (CCAC) President Charlie Bartlett, CCAC board members elected Doug Wilson as the new president with a unanimous vote this past week.

"We lost an incredible leader with Charlie's passing, but we will certainly make it a priority to carry forward with his innovative and forward-thinking spirit as we address the challenges facing agriculture, and as we make investments on behalf of Colorado's corn farmers," said Wilson, who farms near Olathe.

The CCAC board oversees how Colorado's corn check-off dollars (one penny per bushel of corn produced in the state) are spent on research, market development, outreach, education and other endeavors.

Wilson had been serving as CCAC vice president prior to last week's vote. Taking over that vacancy is Mike Lefever, a Longmont-area farmer, who was also elected by a unanimous vote.

In addition to serving on the CCAC board, Doug has also served on Colorado groundwater advisory boards, as well as boards representing West Slope sweet corn producers.