PROMO 660 x 440 Agriculture - Wheat Green Elevator Eads Kiowa County - Chris Sorensen

FSA Encourages Farmers and Ranchers to Vote in County Committee Elections 

Savages Companies (formerly Bartlett) elevator in Eads, Colorado. © Chris Sorensen /

The 2018 Farm Service Agency County Committee Elections began November 5, when ballots were mailed to eligible voters. The deadline to return the ballots to local FSA offices is December 3, 2018.

County committee members are an important component of the operations of FSA and provide a link between the agricultural community and USDA. Farmers and ranchers elected to county committees help deliver FSA programs at the local level, applying their knowledge and judgment to make decisions on commodity price support programs; conservation programs; incentive indemnity and disaster programs for some commodities; emergency programs and eligibility. FSA committees operate within official regulations designed to carry out federal laws.

To be an eligible voter, farmers and ranchers must participate or cooperate in an FSA program. A person who is not of legal voting age but supervises and conducts the farming operations of an entire farm, may also be eligible to vote.

Eligible voters in local administrative area (Insert Number), who do not receive a ballot can obtain one from their local USDA Service Center. December 3, 2018, is the last day for voters to submit ballots in person to local USDA Service Centers. Ballots returned by mail must also be postmarked no later than December 3. Newly elected committee members will take office January 1, 2019.

The candidates in this year’s election are:

Destiny (Duff) Haase is nominated in LAA 2, Kiowa County, to serve as a committee member for a 3-year term. Destiny resides in Eads and has produced grain sorghum, wheat, corn, livestock and sunflowers on her family farming operation.

More information on county committees, such as the new 2018 fact sheet, can be found on the FSA website at at a local USDA Service Center.

Kiowa County FSA Office

409 E Lowell

Eads, CO  81036-0188

Phone: 719-438-5851

Fax: 844-332-7501

County Executive Director:

Dawna Weirich

Farm Loan Officer:

Mary Rhoades

Program Technicians:

Charla Ferris, Hallie Barlow

County Committee:

Destiny Haase, Sean Harkness, Michael Zimmerman

Next County Committee Meeting:  December 6 at 9:00 a.m.

Persons with disabilities who require accommodations to attend or participate in this meeting should contact Dawna Weirich at 719-438-5851 extension 2 or Federal Relay Service at 1-800-877-8339