Hickenlooper Appoints Four Members to Parks Commission

PROMO 660 x 440 Outdoors - Colorado Parks Wildlife Mountains Baca National Wildlife Refuge - USFWS
Published Friday, September 15, 2017
by Rebecca Ferrell

Governor John Hickenlooper appointed by executive order Carrie Besnette Hauser of Glenwood Springs, James George Spehar of Grand Junction, Marie E. Haskett of Meeker and Marvin Edward McDaniel of Sedalia to the Colorado Parks and Wildlife Commission, August 29.
Hauser and Spehar are serving as representatives of outdoor recreation and utilization of parks resources, with terms expiring July 1, 2019. Hauser and Spehar replace the resigning Christopher J. Castilian of Denver and William G. Kane of Basalt.
Haskett will serve as a representative of sports persons and outfitters from west of the Continental Divide. McDaniel has been appointed as a member at large. These terms expire July 1, 2021.
"The dedication and leadership provided by the exiting commission members have been invaluable to CPW," said Bob Broscheid, Director, Colorado Parks and Wildlife. "The agency is better thanks to their service. We will continue to move forward providing efficient and high-quality outdoor experiences with the addition and experience of these four new members."
Hauser is the president and CEO of Colorado Mountain College and past appointee to the Colorado Commission on Higher Education and to the Colorado Blue Ribbon Commission on Health Care Reform. Spehar is a former Mayor and City Council Member of Grand Junction and founding board member of the Grand Junction Convention and Visitor's Bureau. Haskett is the owner/operator of JML Outfitters and was voted the 2016 Outfitter of the Year by the Colorado Outfitters Association. McDaniel is the Executive Vice President, Group President - Utilities, and Chief Administrative Officer at Xcel Energy.
The CPW Commission is comprised of 11 governor-appointed members and sets regulations and policies for Colorado's state parks and wildlife programs.