Tornado watch for 20 Colorado counties Thursday

PROMO Graphic - Weather Tornado WATCH - Chris Sorensen
Published Thursday, July 4, 2019
PICT - Kiowa County Press Icon
by Chris Sorensen

The National Weather Service has issued a tornado watch that covers 20 northeast Colorado counties.

The watch will be in effect until 10:00 p.m. Thursday and includes portions of Wyoming and Nebraska. Severe storms capable of producing a tornado may form in the area.

Storms could also produce very large hail - up to the size of chicken eggs - and wind gusts up to 70 miles per hour. Heavy rain and flash flooding are also possible.

Colorado counties included in the watch include

  • Adams
  • Arapahoe
  • Boulder
  • Broomfield
  • Cheyenne
  • Denver
  • Douglas
  • Elbert
  • El Paso
  • Jefferson
  • Kit Carson
  • Larimer
  • Lincoln
  • Logan
  • Morgan
  • Phillips
  • Sedgwick
  • Washington
  • Weld
  • Yuma

Tornado Safety Tips

If a tornado warning is issued for your area, consider these safety tips

  • Avoid windows
  • Go to a basement and use a sturdy table or mattress for protection
  • If a basement is not available, go to a central, windowless room on the lowest level
  • Mobile homes / manufactured home are NOT safe, even if tied down - go to a shelter
  • Vehicles are not safe in a tornado - go to a shelter
  • If you are caught outdoors, seek shelter in a sturdy building if possible - if not available, lie flat on the ground, use your arms to cover your head, and stay far away from trees