PROMO Graphic - Weather Tornado WATCH - Chris Sorensen

Tornado watch for 3 Colorado counties, thunderstorm watch for 11 more Sunday

A tornado watch is in effect.
PICT - Kiowa County Press Icon
Chris Sorensen

The National Weather Service has issued a tornado watch for Yuma, Kit Carson and Cheyenne counties until 10:00 p.m. Sunday. Three Nebraska counties and 11 Kansas counties are also in the tornado watch.

Additionally, a severe thunderstorm watch is in effect for until 8:00 p.m. for 11 Colorado counties. Seven Wyoming and eight Nebraska counties are also included in the thunderstorm watch.

Heavy rain, golf ball-size hail, strong wind and even a few tornadoes are possible. A tornado warning was issued along the Elbert-Arapaho’s county line shortly before 2:30 p.m., which was allowed to expire. Additional tornado warnings were issued in Logan and Yuma counties later in the day. 

MAP Severe Thunderstorm Watch for August 11, 2019

Severe thunderstorm watch and and flash flood watch in Colorado August 11, 2019. Courtesy National Weather Service.

Colorado counties included in the thunderstorm watch

  • Adams
  • Arapaho’s
  • Douglas
  • Elbert
  • Lincoln
  • Logan
  • Morgan
  • Phillips
  • Sedgwick
  • Washington
  • Weld

A flash flood watch is also in effect Sunday afternoon for Yuma and Kit Carson counties. The watch covers portions of northwest Kansas as well. One to three inches of rain is possible through Sunday evening.