PROMO Graphic - Severe Thunderstorm WATCH - Chris Sorensen

14 Colorado counties under severe thunderstorm watch

A severe thunderstorm watch is in effect.
PICT - Kiowa County Press Icon
Chris Sorensen

The National Weather Service has issued a severe thunderstorm watch until 9:00 p.m. Thursday for 14 Colorado counties. Portions of Wyoming and Nebraska are also included.

MAP Severe Thunderstorm Watch August 1, 2019. NWS

Colorado counties under a Severe Thunderstorm Watch August 1, 2019. NWS

A portion of the area is also under a flash flood watch. Rainfall rates between 1 and 1.5 inches per hour are possible, along with potential for three-inch storm totals. Large hail and strong winds are also a possibility.

Colorado counties included in the thunderstorm watch

  • Adams
  • Arapaho’s
  • Cheyenne
  • Douglas
  • Elbert
  • Kit Carson
  • Lincoln
  • Logan
  • Morgan
  • Phillips
  • Sedgwick
  • Washington
  • Weld
  • Yuma