Kiowa County Fire Protection District Meeting Minutes - February 5, 2018

PROMO 660 x 440 Fire - Wheat Stubble Soot Flames - iStock
Published Friday, February 23, 2018



February 5, 2018 at 7:00 pm

Jay Specht called the meeting to order at 6:58 pm. Those present at the meeting were: Jay Specht, President, Teresa Witte, Treasurer Terry Riley, Director Delton Eikenberg, Director Karen Jones, Secretary

Also attending were Kirbi Stum and Matt Mosher who joined the meeting at 8:00 pm.

There was one addition to the Agenda. Terry moved to accept the Agenda as amended, Teresa seconded and the motion carried.

The Minutes from meetings on 1/23/2018 and 1/29/2018 were reviewed by all, and Teresa moved to accept the Minutes without changes. Marvin seconde6 the motion and the motion carried.

Karen presented several bills needing to be paid and all members reviewed each one. Some bills were held unpaid pending inquiry with the County Commissioners. All other bills were approved for payment with the motion made by Terry, second by Marvin, and the motion carried.

There was an invitation for any in the public to be heard, but there was no one present at that time.

Karen presented Thank You letters for signing. One was to Rich Randal for his efforts in delivering needed equipment donated from his department, and the other was to the Frederick Firestone Fire Protection District for their donation of SCBA Packs.

Discussion followed regarding the options for radio dispatch services. Kirbi and Matt spoke of their experience with e-Dispatch vs. Swift-911 and gave many reasons for using the former. Teresa explained many details of how they worked differently, cost and suggested that we contact Casey and ask him to attend our next meeting to discuss how we might split the billing for this.

Discussion followed regarding meeting times for 2018, and it was agreed that meeting at 7:00 pm is most convenient. Teresa made a motion that meeting times be changed to 7:00 pm for 2018, Terry seconded and the motion carried.

Karen shared that she has obtained an official phone number for the Fire District: 720- 600-1996.

A motion to take a 15 minute break was made by Teresa, Delton seconded and the motion passed. Break at 8:30pm.

Members returned by 8:40 and Jay called the meeting back to order.

Teresa Witte then moved for Executive Session in order for the Board to consider the candidates for District Fire Chief. A formal motion was made as follows:

"I move that we go into an executive session pursuant to Sec. 24-6-402(4){g) for the consideration of the applicants for the position of fire chief & personnel issues which are exempt from disclosure under the provision of the Colorado Open Records Act, Sec. 24- 72-204(3)( a)(XI) , C.R.S.

Marvin seconded the motion and it passed unanimously. Executive Session began at 8:42 pm.

The Board came out of Executive Session at 9:31 pm upon motion by Teresa, second by Delton, and unanimous approval.

Terry made a motion for a vote be taken in order to approve a candidate for the position of District Fire Chief. Delton seconded the motion and it carried.

By a 3:1 majority, AJ McCracken was chosen as the Kiowa County Fire Protection District Chief. Karen will send a letter to Howard and Darrell thanking them for their willingness to serve Kiowa County.

The next meeting will be on February 20, 2018 at 7:00 pm.

Teresa made a motion to adjourn the meeting, Marvin seconded it and the motion passed. Meeting was adjourned at 9:45 pm.

The next meeting will be held on Monday, February 20, at 7 pm at the Courthouse.

/s/ Karen Jones, Secretary

/s/ Jay Specht, President may earn an affiliate commission if you purchase products or services through links in an article. Prices, when displayed, are accurate at the time of publication but may change over time. Commissions do not influence editorial independence.