USDA offering loans in 26 Colorado counties for losses during March storms

PROMO 64J1 Agriculture - Center Pivot Fields Irrigation Green Farm - flickrcc - USGS - public domain
Published Friday, April 26, 2019
PICT - Kiowa County Press Icon
by Chris Sorensen

Agricultural producers in six Colorado counties may be eligible for low interest loans from the United States Department of Agricultureto help cover losses from a blizzard and high winds that occurred in mid-March.

The USDA says Arapahoe, Kiowa, Kit Carson, Larimer, Otero and Weld countiesare in the primary damage area for the storm that occurred March 13-14. That storm was marked by high winds in the southeast portion of the state, and blizzard conditions across the northeast.

Producers in neighboring counties may also be eligible for loans.

Applicants much have suffered "severe physical losses" - such as buildings, crops, and livestock - according to the USDA. Other losses are not eligible. Applications are due by December 9, 2019.

The loans can be used to help repair or replace physical property essential to the agricultural operation that has been damaged or destroyed in the storm. 

In addition to counties in the primary damage area, neighboring counties that may be eligible include


  • Adams
  • Bent
  • Boulder
  • Broomfield
  • Cheyenne
  • Crowley
  • Denver
  • Douglas
  • Elbert
  • Grand
  • Jackson
  • Jefferson
  • Las Animas
  • Lincoln
  • Logan
  • Morgan
  • Prowers
  • Pueblo
  • Washington
  • Yuma


  • Cheyenne
  • Greeley
  • Sherman
  • Wallace


  • Kimball


  • Albany
  • Laramie

Information about USDA Farm Service Agencydisaster programs is available at may earn an affiliate commission if you purchase products or services through links in an article. Prices, when displayed, are accurate at the time of publication but may change over time. Commissions do not influence editorial independence.